Cricket: RBAI Win the Schools’ Cup!

 Many congratulations to the 1st XI cricket team on winning the Ulster Bank Schools' Cup for the 10th time in the 32 year history of the competition. The victory will go down as one of the quickest and most emphatic ever in the history of the Schools' Cup. The 1st XI dismissed Wallace for 43 and needed only 51 balls to reach this total, with the loss of only 1 wicket.

The player of the match was David Robinson with figures of 8 overs, five maidens, four wickets for just 9 runs, ensuring he and his team- mates would be victorious this year. His twin brother and captain Chris Robinson took over where David left off, finishing with equally remarkable figures of 4 overs, three maidens, three wickets for just 4 runs.

Twin brothers David and Chris Robinson who took 7 wickets between them in the final resize

Wallace had actually made a reasonable start with a score of 31 for 1 in the 12th over. However after the drinks break Bradley McNamara got Josh Cardosi out L.B.W and 2 balls later David Robinson got the key wicket of Wallace captain Jonny Hunter. Only 1 of the remaining 11 runs came off the bat, as Wallace were dismissed by the end of the 23rd of the scheduled 40 overs.

Opening batsmen Jonathan Waite and Ben Rose quickly got the score to 40, before Jonathan got caught at cover with just 4 runs to win. Ben Rose had the pleasure of hitting the winning runs in the 8th over to seal a 10th Schools' Cup.

Captain Chris Robinson lifts the Schools Cup resize

This campaign has shown a remarkable dominance by our 1st XI in each round of the cup. Firstly winning by 7 wickets in round 2 against Limavady Grammar, defeating Down High by 9 wickets in the Quarter final, before a remarkable 262 run victory against Friends School in the semi-final.

Once again many congratulations to our 1st XI!


Wallace 43 all out (D.Robinson 4 for 9, C.Robinson 3 for 9, M.Fleetham 2 for 17)

RBAI 45 for 1 off 8.2 overs (J.Waite 22, B.Rose 19 not out)

RBAI Won by 9 wickets

RBAI 1st XI with the Schools Cup resize

Squad: C.Robinson (capt.), J. Waite, B. Rose, M. Lightbody, O. Metcalfe, J.Metcalfe, B.McNamara, R. O'Donnell, D. Keane, D. Robinson, M.Fleetham, N.Armstrong.