Jones House

Housemaster - DJS Wilson, BA, PGCE, PGQ (NI)

Senior Housemaster: Mr. D.J.S. Wilson

Jones House

IMG 0095

        L6 Tutor: Mr M Titterington           Year 12 Tutor: Mrs M Matchett

Year 11 Tutor: Mrs K Gilmore         Year 10 Tutor: Mr D Lambe

Year 9 Tutor: Miss K Reird             Year 8 Tutor: Mr S Gamble


Senior Prefects: Henry Pattison

Head of House: Tim Lyons

House Secretaries: Keelin Elmore, Adam Garreyy, Matthew Fleetham


   Keelin Elmore, Adam Garrett, Tom Glynn, Matthew Fleetham, Tim Lyons, Jack McMillan


Aaron Beckwith, Matthew Betts, Tristan Betts, Daniel Burns, Ross Dougherty, Adam Eakin, James Emery, Oliver Fleetham, Peter Garrett, Conor Gregg, Dylan Hanley, Methembe Khumalo, Frazer Laughlin, Brandon McClernon, Mathison McCourt, Benjamin Mulholland, Daniel O’Reilly, Callum Reid, Matthew Robb, Ben Sloan, Paul Verdon, Jack Wallace.

On behalf of the members of Jones House, I would like to extend a very warm welcome to all new members to the House. I would also like to wish them success this year, in the hope they take full advantage of the wide variety of opportunities presented to them.

Last year, we just missed out on retaining the House Championship after winning it in 2015-16, finishing in a strong 2nd place, only two and a half points off the winners. Members of the House demonstrated their talents in various competitions throughout the year, which is evident through the number of events that the House won, such as the Senior Cross Country, House Rugby (Year 8-Year 10) and Junior Sports Day. Furthermore, there were notable performances in the House Volleyball, the McKee Cup (Swimming), the Sheldon Cup (Junior cross country), the Larmor Cup (rowing) and Senior Sports Day where we finished second in each of these competitions. These results highlight the boys’ commitment and sporting prowess. I would like to thank all the members of the House who participated and contributed throughout the year in a highly contested Championship and hopefully this year we can win back the trophy.

Aside from academic success, there have been several members of the House who have excelled in co-curricular activities: In Year 8, Jack Turner has been selected for the Under 11 Northern Ireland Archery Team. In trampolining, Matthew Carson came 2nd in the Under 14 U.K. Championships. These are very promising accolades from junior pupils and we look forward to following their progress this year.

In Year 10, Sam Duncan competed in the 100m, the 200m and the Discus events in the Firmus Energy Super 6 Athletics meeting in August. He enjoyed considerable success finishing third in both sprints and first in the Discus which augurs well for this year’s Sports Day!

Some Year 11 pupils travelled on the New Zealand rugby tour, including Jude Postlethwaite, Josh Patterson and Carter Clydesdale. They were accompanied by some pupils in Year 12 including Reece Anderson, Tom Lavery and Daniel Eakin and the trip was a great success with 5 victories out of 5 matches.

Several members of Year 11 also achieved Duke of Edinburgh awards, Robbie McCammon, Benjamin McKeown and Yassen Gumaa have all successfully completed their Bronze Duke of Edinburgh awards as well as Adam Byrne and Noah Brown who have carried out their Silver Duke of Edinburgh Expeditions. These awards are extremely valuable and develop highly employable skills and we congratulate all concerned. Josh Patterson also enjoyed success as he was a winner in the Tennis Plate Final. In Music, Robbie McCammon has spent 2 years taking a course in digital music technology at the Junior Academy of Music (JAM) at Queens University and this culminated in a state of the art concert in the SARC centre. Noah Brown has qualified for the International Standard of Eventing (CIC2*), having already competed in five national events (CNC2*). At the end of September Noah competed in a CCI2* which is the highest level of eventing open to pony-riders.

In Year 12 William McMullan was a member of the school J16 Rowing 8 that won Gold at the Portadown Regatta.

Within the Lower Sixth there has been a large range of extra-curricular achievements including Joshua Cargill who won the Lilian May Hubbard Music exhibition and with it a fantastic trip to New York including the opportunity to watch the New York Philharmonic Orchestra and meet Courtney Lewis, the guest conductor and a former RBAI pupil.

Jack McMillan has represented Ireland and Northern Ireland in Junior Swimming at the Youth Commonwealth Games in Nassau in the Bahamas, at the European Junior Championships in Israel and in the World Junior Championships in Indianapolis. Jack also won the Belfast City Council Junior Male Sports personality of the year award. Jack’s aim is now to qualify for the Commonwealth Games in the Gold Coast in Australia later in the year and he was a deserving winner of the Jones House Cup.

In Cricket, Jonathan Waite and Matthew Fleetham were members of the school 1st X1 that won the McCullough and Schools’ Cup double. Jonathan was also selected onto the NCU U17 team that went on a successful tour to St Albans. He was also a member of the Ulster U19 Schools team.

David Lyttle was selected to represent the Ulster U19 rugby squad in the Inter-Provincial tournament. David and Conor McCormick were both members of the successful 1st XV Schools’ Cup winning team.

In academic terms, it was yet another successful year for the pupils of Jones House. There were notable successes in Year 12 at GCSE level with Joel Carson achieving 2A*s, 6As, 2B and 1C, and William McMullan who received 1A*, 9As and 1B, but special recognition goes to Nkosinathi Khumalo who achieved a remarkable 10A*s and 1A.

At AS-Level we had further successes with both Matthew Fleetham and Bailey McCrindle achieving 2As and 1B. However, it was Charlie Lamb and Connor McCormick who topped the lot both achieving 3As. On top of these excellent AS results the A2 students also had notable achievements with James Emery obtaining 3A*’s and an A along with both Adam Eakin and Brandon McClernon both achieving an A and 2 B’s. Congratulations also go to all boys who gained outstanding results and fulfilled their academic potential and their Target Grades.

To conclude, I would like to thank Mr. Wilson and the Form Tutors, on behalf of all House members for their hard work and support. I wish everyone the best for the year ahead and continued success in the House Championship!

Adam Garrett, Keelin Elmore, Matthew Fleetham (House Secretaries)